Friday, December 3, 2010

Board Honors Retiring Members

Board Salute
The Board of Education recognized retiring members John De Beck and Katherine Nakamura for their service to the San Diego Unified School District.
The two members terms will end Dec. 5.

De Beck has been a Board member since 1990, five terms, and connected with the San Diego Unified School District for more than 50 years as a staff member, including a teacher and counselor. He represents Subdistrict C, which includes Kearny, La Jolla, Mission Bay and Pt. Loma high schools, as well as the middle and elementary schools that feed into them.

Founder of the "Catch a Rising Star" program, De Beck was president of the Board in 1994 and vice-president in 1993, 2003 and 2008.

Nakamura joined the board in 2002 and served two terms. Her insights have come from being a parent of current students in San Diego Unified. She represents Sub-District B, which includes Henry, Hoover, Scripps Ranch and Serra high schools and the middle and elementary schools that feed into them.

She was Board president in 2008 and vice-president in 2003 and 2004. Her efforts were concentrated on technology and music and arts education.

For more district news, subscribe to the Superintendent's Friday Notes.