Wednesday, July 13, 2011

New Area Superintendents Appointed, Assignments Realigned

For the 2011-12 school year, the Area Superintendents have been realigned and there are several new faces serving as the liaison between schools, parents and our central office at the Education Center. Because of budget restraints, the number of Area Superintendents has been reduced from eight to six.

Area Superintendents are key members of our district’s organization; among their duties are helping schools to work together within their clusters, developing and implementing improvements specific to each cluster and working with cluster committees. Each Area Superintendent’s staff includes a Parent Support Liaison. These staff members help parents and guardians every day with issues at their students’ schools.

The Area Superintendents for the 2011-12 school year are: Morse and Lincoln high school clusters, Area 1, Dr. Brenda Campbell; Henry, Serra and Scripps Ranch, Area 2, Dr. David Lorden; Crawford, La Jolla and Mira Mesa, Area 3, Shirley Wilson; Clairemont, Kearny and Madison, Area 4, Marian Kim-Phelps; Hoover, Mission Bay and University City, Area 5, Mitzi Merino; and Pt. Loma and San Diego High, Area 6, Gilbert Gutierrez.

For more information on the Area Superintendents, contact their offices through the Area Superintendent website.