Monday, July 11, 2011

SCPA Students Shine in National Youth Arts Awards

Students and staff from SCPA, the San Diego School for Creative and Performing Arts, will be accepting awards this Sunday as the National Youth Arts Awards hold its regional ceremony. A dozen awards will be given out to SCPA shows, performances and individual performers.

Superintendent Bill Kowba called the results “outstanding.”

“The collective district could not be prouder of SCPA's remarkable accomplishments,” he said. “You are a flagship magnet. This is a testimony to your leadership, the dedicated staff, talented students, and supportive parents. WELL DONE!”

The winners are: for Outstanding Dance Performance, Connections; Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical, Dylan Hoffinger (class of 2014), Seymour Krelborn in Little Shop of Horrors; Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical, Erica Malachowski (class of 2013), Little Shop of Horrors; Dance, Individual, Cleo Persons (class of 2013), for Angelitos Negros; Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Musical, Asella Medina-Smith (class of 2011), for The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee; Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Musical, Mary Reagan (class of 2011), as Ghost of Christmas Past in Scrooge, The Musical; Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Play, Brandon Plavcan (class of 2012), as MacDuff in Macbeth; Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical, Victoria Matthews (class of 2012), as Little Inez in Hairspray; Outstanding Ensemble, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee; Outstanding Music Direction, Hiram Garza (class of 2012), Macbeth; Outstanding Youth Orchestra, Macbeth; Outstanding Direction, Richard Trujillo, SCPA Artistic Director.

The ceremony will be held at 7:30 p.m. Sunday, July 10, at the Casa Del Prado Theater in Balboa Park, 1800 Del Prado (92101). For more information on the program, go to the National Youth Theater website. Contact Mitzi Lizárraga, principal, SCPA, at (619) 470-0555 for more information on SCPA, or visit the school website.