Monday, May 21, 2012

Honoring Those Who Go Above and Beyond

Above and Beyond Award Winners
Photo credit to CAPT Tim Conroy, USN (ret) left to right:
Dave Elmer, Executive Director of Special Education Susan Martinez, Jazelle Aytes, Shelly Suggs, Charles James, Magdalena Tavasci, Mike Dominguez, Norma Strickland, Daphne Terrell, and CAC Chairperson Moira Allbritton
Every spring, the district Community Advisory Committee for Special Education (CAC), in collaboration with Special Education staff, accepts nominations for the Above and Beyond awards, which recognize parents, employees, students and community members who exemplify the district's commitment to high expectations for all students. The 2012 Above & Beyond award recipients were announced on May 10 for their excellence in supporting the educational outcomes of San Diego Unified students with disabilities. Congratulations to all the honorees!

Honorees included:
Jazelle Aytes, student, Fletcher Elementary School
Michael Dominguez, Logan K-8 School
Dave Elmer, SDUSD Employee, Polinsky Children's Center
Meagan Hood, La Jolla Elementary School
Charles James, Morse High School
Norma Strickland, Special Education Early Childhood
Shelly Suggs, DePortola Middle School
Magdalena Tavasci, Bayview Terrace Elementary School
Daphne Terrell, Lindbergh Schweitzer Elementary School

The following individuals were selected for the CAC Honor Roll:
Liz Carroll, Jones Elementary School
Raylene Dickinson, CAC Member
Elizabeth Finch, Kumeyaay Elementary School
Janna Hemphill, San Diego Cooperative Charter School
Amanda Johnson, Taft Middle School
Jennifer Kuklenski, Mission Bay High School
Meghan Main, Point Loma High School
Loralei Olsen, Tierrasanta Elementary School
Molly Perry, San Diego Cooperative Charter School
Carrie Rydzic, Kumeyaay Elementary School
Nathan Sachdeva, Patrick Henry High School
Nancy Shea, Special Education Program
Calvin Smith (“Mr. CT”), Lincoln High School
Anthony Villasenor, San Diego Cooperative Charter School
Leslie Vittori, Special Education Program
Debby Warner, Special Education Programs Division
Karin Wehsener, Jones Elementary School
Andrea Yoder-Clark, SurfAid International

For more information, visit the CAC website.