Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Safe School Task Force Receives 2012 Spirit of Stonewall Service Award

San Diego Unified was recently named a recipient of a 2012 Stonewall Service Award for spearheading the Safe School Task Force. The award is designed to honor local individuals and organizations that have made a positive impact on San Diego's LGBT community.

Born in a conversation in summer 2010 and reinforced by a fall of youth suicides, the Safe Schools Advisory Board came together officially in November 2010 to ensure the San Diego Unified Board of Education adopted a safe schools/anti-bullying policy. The new policy includes a comprehensive set of protocols, procedures and initiatives designed to ensure that all students, including LGBT students, have access to a school environment free from bullying, harassment and discrimination, and where each student is free to achieve their educational potential.

The community-education partnership has been innovative, successful and vital to changing the culture and climate of the school district. It is made up of many individuals and organizations that spend their lives advocating for our youth: PFLAG San Diego, the Anti-Defamation League, CA Faith for Equality, The San Diego LGBT Community Center, GLSEN San Diego, the PTA, City of San Diego Human Relations Commission, San Diego Education Association, CA School Employees Association, Center for Excellence in School Counseling, the offices of Sen. Christine Kehoe and Assembly Member Toni Atkins, and the San Diego Unified School District.

San Diego Unified Trustee Kevin Beiser accepted the award on behalf of the district at special ceremony held June 26. Awardees will also be honored at the Spirit of Stonewall Rally, Friday, July 20 at 6 p.m., on Normal Street, between Harvey Milk Street and University Avenue.