Thursday, June 4, 2009

Regional Occupation Program Automotive Students Awarded Scholarships

Fourteen hard-working students were granted full scholarships to the Miramar College Diesel Technology Program.

Congratulations to Rafael Maciel (Sci-Tech High); Robert Landry (High Tech High Media Arts); Joshua Le Blanc, Irvin Ortiz, Merissa Richardson, Jonathan Lopez, David Ostrowski, Eloy Lopez and Gladys Becerra (Clairemont High); Adam Spahr, Scott Davis, Matt Williams and Nhan Nguyan (Madison High); and Nolan Le Duc (Crawford High), who also received the 2009 Bridgestone/Firestone scholarship award.

The scholarships will give the students the opportunity to earn an associate’s degree in diesel technology. Students who complete the program will receive a $500 toolbox bonus.

For more information, please contact Greg Quirin, program specialist, Office of College, Career and Technical Education, at or (858) 503-1736.

Read more in Superintendent's Friday Notes.