Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Scholarships for Future Teachers

Future Educator Scholarships were awarded to 14 high school students by the San Diego Education Fund, a fund that has helped train the next generation of teachers since 1954.

This year’s Future Educator Scholars include Katie Foley and Sharita Peyton (Clairemont); Jessica Contreras, Megan Jochim and Amanda Peterson (Henry); Jessica Williams (Lincoln); April Cervantes (Morse); Erica Navarro (Point Loma); Monica Mejia (Twain); and Ronel Dalisay (University City). Scholarship recipients from the Mashin Scholars fund for math- or science-related fields are Cristina Nguyen (Crawford CHAMPS); Biniam Ambrachew and Janet Mercedes Gil (Mission Bay); and Abraham Nguyen (Preuss School at UCSD).

Congratulations to all future educators and thanks to the San Diego Education Fund for more than a half-century of supporting tomorrow's teachers. For more information on the Fund, go to

Read more in Superintendent's Friday Notes.