Thursday, June 27, 2013

Graduates receive college scholarships from San Diego Air & Space Museum and Convair Alumni Association

Source: San Diego Air and Space Museum

The San Diego Air and Space Museum's mission statement is to inspire young people to tackle the challenges of the science, technology, engineering and mathematics academic disciplines and to make-a-difference in the world through an innovative, adventurous spirit. To further this goal, the museum and Convair Alumni Association have selected 13 students in the San Diego region to receive scholarships. The scholarships are given annually on behalf of three Museum-administered scholarship funds: Bill Gibbs, R.A. "Ken" Rearwin and the Convair Alumni Association. To-date, 245 talented San Diego students have been awarded $672,000.

“I'm very proud there are many students studying math and science," said Donna Lilly, president of the Endowment Board at the Museum. "The U.S. really needs to keep up with the global market for math and science in the field of technology." "Every year we interview so many outstanding students," said Charles Pinney, member of the Endowment Board. "Their accomplishments are unbelievable."

Museum President Jim Kidrick commented, "These scholarship programs exemplify our intent to aid deserving students wanting to advance their education - our entire mission is really all about inspiring our next greatest generations to excel in their lives."

San Diego Unified School District graduates received the following scholarships.

Convair Alumni Association Endowment Scholars, 2013

  • Tessa Adler, High School: Point Loma High School; Field of Study: Chemical Engineer (will attend Yale)
  • Dana Christensen, High School: Clairemont High School; Field of Study: Social Sciences (will attend UCLA)
Each of the scholars submitted an extensive application listing academic achievement, extracurricular and/or community service activities, teacher recommendations, and an essay. They then were interviewed by a panel of judges to determine the final winners
For more information please call (619) 234-8291 or visit