Saturday, October 5, 2013

San Diego County “A Salute to Teachers” awards gala slated for Saturday

Teachers of the Year The San Diego County Teacher of the Year awards will be held Saturday, Oct. 5, at the annual “A Salute to Teachers” event, sponsored by Cox Communications and the San Diego County Office of Education. The ceremony begins at 7 p.m. at the Balboa Theater in downtown San Diego and will also be televised live on Cox San Diego Channel 4.

This year’s event will highlight several district teachers and students. San Diego Unified students will be performing in three of the entertainment acts, including the Mission Bay High School Preservationists, one of the nation's premier traditional youth jazz bands; Chamber Bravura, nationally ranked a cappella group comprised of middle school and high school students from Scripps Ranch, under the direction of Katherine Girvin from Marshall Middle School; and sisters and vocalists, Nicole and Natalie de Kozan, students at Marshall Middle School and Scripps Ranch High School respectively.

In addition to these outstanding students, two San Diego Unified teachers will be receiving special awards: Lara Dickens from Henry High School has been named the Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation 2013 Environmental Educator, and Patrick Trotter from Bethune K-8 has been named the Procopio 2013 Science and Technology Educator. A short video about each of the teachers will be shown at the ceremony and they will receive their award from the corresponding sponsor on stage.

Of course the culmination of the evening will be the announcement of the 2013-14 County Teachers of the Year. San Diego Unified has six outstanding candidates vying for the title of County Teacher of the Year. They include Kenneth Hughes from Lewis Middle, Jessica Graham from Kearny High Science Connections & Technology, Lauren Robinson-Hunt from CPMA, Amy Sanders from Nye Elementary, David Weber from Preuss UCSD and Angela Wolde from Euclid Elementary. Learn more about the teachers.