Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Superintendent, Board President chart course for future, honor graduates

San Diego Unified has all the parts to create America's best school system, Superintendent Cindy Marten said at the 2013 State of the District ceremony Tuesday evening.

Hall of Fame inductee
Joe Schloss, left, with
Board of Education
Member Richard Barrera.
"I see a future where we keep our promise to children," she told an audience of nearly 400. "I can tell you that we have, right here in our backyard, exactly what it takes to build the best school system in the nation."

Opening the program, Dr. John Lee Evans, President of the Board of Education, said that the focus of the meeting was on Vision 2020, the Board of Education's roadmap for the future, but that we also needed to look to the past.

"All five of us are products of public education in schools across the country," Evans said of the district's Board of Education members. "We owe a debt of gratitude to our parents’ generation. They believed in public education. We believe that every student in San Diego Unified today should be provided the same opportunities to succeed that the five of us had."

Supt. Marten and President Evans also introduced the first members of the San Diego Unified School District Hall of Fame. San Diego City Council Member Todd Gloria (interim mayor in 2013-14) was introduced as the first member of the Hall of Fame, which will recognize graduates of San Diego Unified School District schools.. Go to Hall of Fame web page. Download Hall of Fame photo (4.2 mb)
One of the highlights of the program was the performance and participation of students. Students participants included:
  • Chamber Bravura, Marshall Middle and Scripps Ranch High schools
  • Kearny High School Army JROTC, led by Col. Tim Swann
  • Kearny High School ASB students
  • Hoover High School Band; Christopher Mena, director
  • Cheerleaders from Serra, Lincoln and Kearny high schools

News Coverage