Saturday, May 14, 2011

Local Educators Recognized With 'Honoring Our Own' Awards

Four San Diego Unified administrators are among 27 county-wide saluted by the Association of California School Administrators and the San Diego County School Boards Association.

The recent "Honoring Our Own" ceremony takes note of standout administrators at schools throughout San Diego County and hosted by the San Diego County Office of Education.

Recognized from San Diego Unified were:
  • Irene Hightower, Vice Principal, Rosa Parks Elementary: Administrator of the Year, Elementary Co-Administrator Category;
  • Matthew Jordan, Building Services Supervisor III, Administrator of the Year, Classified Leader Category;
  • Peggy Zickert, Manager, Program Monitoring, Administrator of the Year, Curriculum and Instruction Category;
  • Bruce Ward, Director, Physical Education, Health Education and Interscholastic Athletics, Administrator of the Year, Central Office Administrator Category.
The awards ceremony, held at the Sheraton San Diego Resort and Marina, was dedicated the evening to former Poway Unified Superintendent Don Phillips, Ed.D, who died earlier this year, for his valuable leadership in public education and for children.

For more information, go to the event website.